What Are The 6 kinds of advocacy

  • Case advocacy.
  • Self advocacy.
  • Peer advocacy
  • Paid independent advocacy.
  • Citizen advocacy.
  • Statutory advocacy.

Case Advocacy

Case advocacy is when Social workers seek equality of rights and opportunities for all people in a number of realms. And, a major way of advancing social work’s social justice agenda is through advocacy. Advocacy can involve one case (many times an individual or family) requiring some kind of change.

Example: Case advocacy is the action of first, collaborating with a client, then going with them to the site of injustice and assisting them to navigate other systems, public servants, and the general public. For example, before the MHR office in my community was closed, I would often go to the office with my clients.

Self Advocacy

Self-advocacy is “An individual’s ability to effectively communicate, convey, negotiate or assert his or her own interests, desires, needs and rights. It involves making informed decisions and taking responsibility for those decisions” 

What is an Example of self-advocacy?

Say you’re a student who struggles with writing. But you’re in a history class that requires taking a lot of notes. If you’re a strong self-advocate, you understand that taking notes is going to be a challenge for you. Let’s watch a video to learn more:

Peer advocacy:

A Peer Advocate is a student leader who is trained, through a weekly one-term course, in addressing listening skills and mental health issues and is committed to enhancing the residential experiences

Peer advocacy is a program centered around inclusion and designed to educate students on speaking out on behalf of students with intellectual, developmental, or other disabilities. It is is a unique approach that empowers students to protect those targeted by bullying and to provide social inclusion opportunities.